November 2013

11/15

I love DR. I love my home, but sometimes it boggles me to read emails from people who don’t like us. Yes, in every city or town or intentional community there is always going to be someone or something someone else doesn’t like about it, and it seems I’ve read a few nasty emails to DR since I’ve been at camp, which is sad because they usually don’t have much constructive to say.

Communities are like people because they are full of people and hopefully any sensible person should know that, when you are mad or disgruntled at someone, don’t write them a huge yucky email because that usually does no good or makes your situation worse. Instead, call them up and talk to someone like a sensible, civilized person and maybe you can either work out your differences or you can choose to do something else with your life.

People read about DR, dreaming to live there someday, but they get disappointed when it is not the fantasy they chalked it up to be. Yes, building or buying a home here could cost $20k or more, and it is hard to make money unless you already have an outside source you rely on or leave in the winter to obtain, there are thousands of ticks and mice, there are storms and downpours or even tornadoes, it gets frigid in the winter, you might have to walk a block to pee at the common house if you can’t squat in a bush, on and on, you live with 80 roommates in rural Missouri. You might get misinformed by what you read or by what 1/80 people tells you before you get there. It’s not all rainbows and sunshine and happy children skipping through the fields with fuzzy kittens (only sometimes). Life at DR is rough and tough!!! Don’t move to the airport or even visit the airport and complain about the noise or yet, write an email to everyone who works in the airport about how much their airport sucks because the noise is too loud and the exhaust smells bad and the bathroom you took a dump in was dirty before you got there.

Bottom line, life at DR is awesome but tough and it takes a certain kind of person to live there or even stay through their visit.

Camp has been great, but I for one am happy and excited to be going home in a couple weeks!

11/29

I had a most wonderful Thanksgiving coming home yesterday. I also hear it was Thanksgivukah, Thanksgiving and Chanukah, which won’t happen for another 70,000 years or so! We had a nice small feast with about 25 people at DR. Many folks are away visiting family for the holiday. We didn’t eat any turkey, but we had mutton, ham, duck, rooster, and muscovy. We also had vegan dishes too, we had one table with the meat dishes on them and one table with the vegan dishes on them and one table with pies for dessert. Yummy! Apparently it is tradition at DR to get together for lunch on the day after and eat the leftovers today. The tradition has a name but it is so long I’ve forgotten what it is, but it has something to do with Harriet Tubman’s younger underachieving sister and some story Thomas made up about her.

It’s also that time again, that time when I come home and sort through the 500 emails I didn’t bother to sort when I was at work. Sometimes reading village email feels like a chore that must be done. I took a deep breath as my email boxes went from 200 to 100 to 50 and eventually 5. Yipee for less digital clutter!

And Brrr!!! It is cold. It was 25 degrees when I got on the bus to go home and it was 20 degrees when I woke up this morning. I also went walking on the frozen pond for the first time. I’ll have to get out my ice skates. I’ll be renting Tamar’s Cabin this winter so I’ll have a warm place to be, but I’ll also be burning dead trees for my heat. I’d prefer electric heat, but beggars, I mean frozen tootsies, can’t be choosers. This will be my first cold winter in 3 years, since I’ve spent my winters on cruise ships in the past few years. We’ll see how I fair in the frigid Missouri weather.

Comments are closed.